Something to Think About

Protestants say that they don’t put their trust in men, so therefore they don’t trust the Catholic Church. They claim to be putting their trust in the Bible instead.

What if I said that I don’t put my trust in books, so why should I trust the Bible?

Of course I would be told that the Bible is not just an ordinary book. It is the exception to the rule and trustworthy because it is from God and protected by God. This is true.

That’s basically the explanation of the Catholic Church. It’s not an ordinary bunch of men, or simply a human institution. The Catholic Church is the exception to the rule, and trustworthy because it is from God and protected by God.  This is a bold claim I know, but I only wish to point out that trusting the Church is no more of a stretch than trusting the Bible.

The Bible did not appear out of thin air. We trust that God equipped certain men to write the Scriptures, compile them, and preserve them through the centuries. Is it that much of a stretch to believe that God is using men to infallibly interpret the infallible Scriptures so that they were not written, compiled, and preserved only to be misunderstood? It has been necessary to protect orthodox Christianity against heresy since the beginning of the Church, sometimes with the necessity of calling a council.

Before you attempt to bypass the Catholic Church in your pursuit of God’s will, make sure that you are not attempting to bypass what God intends for you. A lifetime, even a long one, does not offer enough time for you to figure much out on your own. You and the Bible alone cannot get very deep. Real understanding comes from tapping into the accumulated centuries of the Catholic Church’s knowledge.

I don’t like to put my trust in men either. Therefore I hesitate to trust myself, or pastors that fulfill my own ideas of trustworthiness. I won’t put my trust in the writings of guys like Martin Luther, John Calvin, or Loraine Boettner. I also do not want to be part of a human institution like the Southern Baptist Convention. We all trust people to some extent. Make sure they’re qualified.

-Ben 6/24/14

16 Comments on “Something to Think About”

  1. Kip says:

    I guess that makes a little sense.

  2. Rachel-Elaine says:

    Definitely agree.

    • Ben says:

      Thanks, and it’s good to know there are other Catholics out there trying to communicate the (sometimes uncomfortable) truth to Protestants with grace.
      -Ben

  3. Anonymous says:

    EXCELLENT>>EXCELLENT ANSWER TO SO_OFTEN-ASKED THAT QUESTION> I AM SO PROUD OF YOUR WRTTEN WORK ON THIS SUBJECT…Learning more , myself, everytime I read what you write. (now if I could only get proficient at typing !!! Love, Gr. Elaine

  4. paulfpavao says:

    “We all trust people to some extent. Make sure they’re qualified.”

    Hmm. Something else we agree on! We don’t agree on which men to trust, but you’re absolutely right that the Protestant idea of not trusting men is a fantasy.

  5. Very succinct explanation of many of the things people like us struggle with. Sometimes it takes me a while for things “sink in.” One of them was the history of the Bible. Years ago I read a book about the canon of Scripture. Since it was so full of stuff and people I’d never heard about, most of it went over my head so I put it on my shelf and went on with life. But, there was one thing I took away from it; the Bible was the product of a long tradition of texts that were used by the early church.

    When I started looking into Catholicism and seeing it’s strong position on traditional teachings, it immediately resonated with me because I had already been prepped to know that the Bible itself is a product of tradition. When fellow Protestant friends and family started telling me they rejected the “traditions of men”, I started realizing there was a sort of hypocrisy among us all because we still accepted the Bible….a “tradition of man.”

    When I thought about it deeper, I realized that none of us determined what the Bible was. Somebody put it together. So we all trust somebody’s judgment on what is the inspired, infallible Word of God…even though we had no idea who that was.

    So yeah; if we accept the Bible, we trust both tradition and somebody else’s judgment. So how can we reject these things as “unscriptural”?

  6. Dale says:

    Good thoughts and good logic, Ben!

  7. Kristina says:

    This is a great point. Fundamentalists I know like to say that they trust in the Bible 100% but don’t want people like the Pope telling them what to do. I guess I don’t understand how they can accept the Bible, which was written and complied by early Christians/Catholics, but not the people who have been entrusted with handing down these same beliefs, philosophies, and traditions for two thousand years.

  8. Linda says:

    I like logic.